South London Photographer: Sharing the phone fun

During the last week I have facilitated a couple of workshops, sharing some of the lessons I have learned when using my phone to take and edit pictures.  At each session I have started by urging people to stop thinking of their phones as poor relations to their cameras and start appreciating the possibilities phones offer.  “The best camera is the one you have with you” is quoted by various people all over the internet, and is the title of a book by photographer, Chase Jarvis. Regardless of where the quote comes from, it’s very true – you can only take pictures with the camera you have on you at the time. And most of us nowadays do have our phones with us pretty much all the time.  I’ve read recently that point and shoot cameras may well disappear from the market altogether as phones have replaced the need for their existence. But I was also recently sent some information about a new powerful, wifi enabled camera, which I noted has been designed in the shape of a phone.  I can’t help wondering if the makers will ultimately be forced to shoe-horn an actual phone into their camera to make it sellable.  Who knows what the future holds? We’ll see!

Here are some of the comments that were sent to me or posted on Facebook after Friday evening and an earlier worksop in the week where I taught teachers, which I have to say was a little bit nerve wracking.

“Just had the most brilliant evening playing around with phone photography under the inspiring tutelage of Sarah-Jane Field.”

“Worth every penny.  Thank you so much for a fab evening and brilliant photo experience!”

“Thank you for the workshop yesterday evening – all of us very much enjoyed it and felt that we have learnt something that we can use personally as well as here at work.”

“I loved it – definitely recommend it!”

And here are a couple of lovely pictures taken by the people who attended:

amanda
By talented local artist, Amanda Blunden
sue
By Sue Medhurst
rowan.jpg
By Rowan Conway

 

The positive reaction has generated further interest and so I’m sure I’ll be doing another local session soon. Look out for details.

Here are some pictures from Friday evening’s workshop, which I must admit I didn’t take on my phone due to the fact that it, along with the camera inside it, is pretty smashed up and broken, and has been for a while now. I really must get it together to call the insurance company and sort that out and I very much hope to have a new phone by my next outing with phone photography enthusiasts. I’m beginning to get quite frustrated by my compromised phone camera!

This week I am attending a workshop myself rather than taking it and I’m incredibly excited. Having spent the last few days sharing my love for the most up to date technology in phones to take photographs, I shall be travelling back through history and learning to make ambrotypes, one of the earliest forms of photography there is.  Aren’t I lucky?  I’m sure I’ll be posting lots of pictures afterwards about my time there so look out for those.

Have a great week! SJ

(c)SJField 2016

untitled-6159untitled-6164untitled-6168untitled-6186

 

 

2 thoughts on “South London Photographer: Sharing the phone fun

  1. This is a great piece and love the pics! Hope you get lots of interest. Let me know when you do another one and I’ll put a notice up in the staffroom. I think quite a few will be interested. Amanda x On 19 Jun 2016 09:04, “Sarah-Jane Field Photography” wrote:

    > Sarah-Jane Field posted: “During the last week I have facilitated a couple > of workshops, sharing some of the lessons I have learned when using my > phone to take and edit pictures. At each session I have started by urging > people to stop thinking of their phones as poor relations to” >

Leave a Reply

