New challenges all the time

untitled--5
Several points in a deliberate shape

 

So, I’ve just put together an advert!  (No – it’s not the picture above.) Never did that before – well, maybe I played around with Microsoft’s Publisher when I first started working as a marketing assistant in the City years and years ago and literally had no idea what I was meant to be doing so sat around pretending I could design stuff, while some people who sat round the DTP desk just four feet away actually were designing stuff because they knew exactly what they were doing.  Anyway, I am quite chuffed I managed to do it.  The advert is to go in a local school fair programme and I felt it might be a bit much to call on my lovely ex boss’ husband to design another ad for me so soon after he’d put together the one I have going into Contacts, the directory for actors and agents (for which I was extremely grateful.)

 

As well as getting to grips with Photoshop (not my strongest area as my son so loves to remind me and often) and designing adverts I have recently photographed a wedding for the first time!  I can tell you I felt rather sick driving to the venue and spent the hour getting there wondering why on earth I put myself through this – nerve wracking, gut wrenching terror!!  In fact, over the last few months I have put myself into various situations where I feel somewhat in over my head and find myself cursing the day that I ever agreed, and in some instances asked, for these situations.  Such as when I first worked for an events company just before Christmas – I felt like I had absolutely no idea what I was doing and truth be told I probably didn’t know quite enough.  But as they say, if you never put yourself in uncomfortable positions you’ll never get anywhere.  I have certainly learned an awful lot by getting into these tricky situations and no matter how nervy I have been it’s always been worth it in the end.

I am busy editing the wedding the photographs and will upload a blog all about it soon.  The couple are very local to me…gosh, I hope they’re pleased otherwise I shall had to visit the local cafe and corner shop with a bag over my head.

The other thing I have just managed to finish is Part 2 of the course I started at the beginning of the year, The Art of Photography.  I took quite a lot of photographs in preparation, a couple of which I posted here last week, and ended up ditching all of them and starting again.  I’ve included a few of the ones I used in the end today so you can see what I do when I’m not photographing children and families.  Its quite different and truth be told I’m rather nervous about whether or not I’ve achieved the course requirements but we’ll see. I’ll let you know when I get my feedback!

untitled--3
Curves
untitled--9
A single point dominating the image

The sun does appear to be making an appearance today – yay! And enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

